Yoga – A Way of Life -2

By  |  0 Comments


There is no doubt that once you begin to practise yoga you will look for more asanas. Once you; that is your body becomes familiar with the basic yoga asanas you may proceed gradually to more complex asanas. These may require a level of flexibility that can be achieved by performing the following asanas :

  1. Vajra asana
  2. Sarvang asana
  3. Sarp asana
  4. Hala asana

The next set of asanas that you can perform are listed below.

1. Padma asana:

  • Literally it means the lotus asana.
  • Sit on the floor and stretch your legs.
  • Bend your right leg. Lift your right foot with your left hand and place it on your left thigh.
  • Bend your left leg. Lift your left foot with your right hand and place it on your right thigh.
  • Place your wrists on your knees.
  • Join your thumb and index finger. Stretch the other fingers out.
  • Ensure that your elbows do not bend. Keep your head erect.
  • Try to imagine a straight line passing through your head ; down through your spine and reaching the ground.

Health benefits:

This is a great posture for meditation. It improves  concentration. It is known to stimulate the muscles of the brain and enhances memory power . It also tones the leg and thigh muscles . it reduces the risk of joint pain . a regular practice of  t’his asana leads to an overall  blossoming of the practitioner just like a lotus flower hence the name padmasana.


2. Yogamudra

  • Sit in padmasana posture .
  • Place your hands behind your left wrist.
  • Bend towards your right and touch your toe with your forehead.
  • Exhale while you bend .
  • Rise slowly ;inhaling while you do so.
  • Bend towards your left and touch your toe.exhale while doing this.
  • Inhale and rise .
  • Bend and touch the ground with your forehead .exhale as you do it.
  • Rise and inhale.

Health benefits :

  • Digestive organs become healthy .The liver ,spleen and stomach are toned .Constipation is relieved by constant practice.The asana cures mild respiratory disorders .




3. Shalab asana :

  • Lie on floor on your stomach .your hand under your  thighs .
  • Slowly raise your legs as high as you can while keeping them straight .
  • Exhale and return to your original position .

Health benefits :

  • Increase the strength of leg muscles.Tones and strengthens the thighs .It also cures digestive disorders.



4. Dhanur asana :

  • Lie on your stomach with your chin resting on the ground.bend your knees and hold the ankles.
  • Push your legs and pull your hands.
  • This raises both upper and lower body.
  • With constant practise ;you will be able to stay balanced in this posture.

Health benefits:

  • It increases body flexibility .It tones the body muscles.It creates a balance internally.



5. Utrasana :

  • Sit in Vajrasana  with your hands on your thighs.
  • Slowly rise to a kneeling position .
  • Apply pressure to  your feet and begin to arch back.
  • Lift your head and chest as you arch back.
  • Slowly bend backwards and allow your fingers to find your heels.
  • Grasp your heels and slowly lower your head as though you are extending it through your neck.
  • Stay in this position for at least 4 counts and return to Vajrasana .

Health benefits:

As you bend backwards there is a slight exertion on the glands of the neck and this has a beneficial effect on the gland secretions. The fat that gets accumulated in the waist gradually reduces. The stretching of your abdomen exerts the digestive organs and increases metabolism. It also clears the passage to the lungs.

6. Nada Vajrasana:

  • Sit in Vajrasana posture . Slowly raise your hands over your head inhaling deeply while you do so.
  • Bend forward. Try to touch the floor with your forehead.
  • Stretch your hands out in front . Your arms should rest along the ground. Breathe out as you do so.
  • Slowly rise up and return to Vajrasana.

Health Benefits:

This asana is done mainly to calm the mind. It helps in eliminating negative feelings and releasing more positive thoughts. Practising  this asana will help you remain calm and increase your confidence levels.
7. Chakrasana:

  • Lie down on your back.
  • Bend your kneed and rest your feet on the ground.
  • Place your hands on the ground near your ears. Bend your elbows . ensure that your palms point towards your shoulders.
  • Breathe out. Raise your body slowly and allow your entire body to rest on your hands and feet.
  • Stay there for a few seconds. Return very slowly to original position. Be very careful while lowering your body especially  while lowering your head.


Health benefits:

This asana resembles a wheel hence the name chakra ( wheel) asana. The muscles of the arms are toned. Fingers and feet are energized.  There is a release of large bursts of energy while performing this asana.


It is better to hold the posture of any asana for long periods of time than performing them several times in quick succession. Try to increase the number of counts for each asana as you progress.


The asanas mentioned above  are a set of asanas you should perform on a daily basis. Remember that fitness is the  total package. Being fit is not the same as being thin. It is much more. Being fit means being healthy in mind and body. By performing asanas the entire body including the organs get exercised and thus remain healthy. Yoga will not only make you fit ; it will also make you feel young and active. Do not look at yoga as a mere form of exercise ; look at it as a way of life. Make yoga a part of your daily life – something like brushing your teeth. Incorporate yoga into your life and lead a healthy and happy life.


I am a third year Electronics and Communication Engineering student with a passion for literature. I am an avid reader ;particularly fascinated by modern fiction . I love to pen short pieces about day to day occurrences.